Gluten Free Tapioca Flour / Starch


Add a review


Dietary: Clean Eating, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free, Gluten-Free, Kosher, Paleo-Friendly, Peanut-Free, Soy-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Tapioca Flour, also called Tapioca Starch, can be used as a mild, neutral-tasting and grain-free alternative to corn starch for baking and thickening sauces. It comes in a convenient resealable bag so it stays fresh between uses.

Makes delicious puddings, and is often used in gluten free flour blends for light, fluffy baked goods. Comes in a resealable pouch for your convenience.

Subscription details
How subscriptions work

Products are automatically delivered on your schedule. No obligation, modify or cancel your subscription anytime.
Learn more...

$2.29

Find a Store

FAQs

Product Details

Ingredient List
Ingredients: Gluten Free Tapioca Flour/Starch

 

Certifications
Kosher-Orthodox Union Parve      
Non-GMO Project Verified          
Certified Gluten Free – Currently NCA, transitioning to GFCO

 

How is it made? 
It comes from the cassava root.  Dried and powdered, it becomes tapioca flour/starch.  There is no difference between tapioca flour and tapioca starch.

 

Storage Recommendation
Dry product may be stored at room temperature, in refrigerator, or in freezer at least until the code date on the package. Prepared product should be consumed within 1 week of preparation

 

Look For (smell, taste, description)
Light, fine powdery texture, brilliant white in color, odorless

 

Ready to eat? 
Item is not ready to eat, it must be thoroughly cooked.

 

Usage Suggestions
Used as an ingredient in baked goods.
It can be used as a thickener for pie fillings, puddings, gravy, and sauces.

 

Nutrition Info

Health Information
No Fat      
No Cholesterol      
No Trans Fat      
No Sugar      
Low Sodium  
Wheat Free    
Non GMO

 

Nutrition Benefits
Iron 2 %

 

Allergen Information

Wheat Free        
Gluten Free      
Produced in a peanut free environment
Produced in an facility that produces tree nuts (Almond).
Produced on dedicated equipment free of tree nuts. 

 

Tips & FAQ’s

Substitution Ratio

Tapioca flour/starch can replace Corn starch in a recipe in a 1:1 ratio. If a recipe calls for 1 Tbsp. corn starch, use 1 Tbsp. tapioca starch.

 

How do I use Tapioca Flour/Starch? 
It can be used as a thickener for pie fillings, puddings and sauces. It can be used mixed with other gluten free flours and xanthan gum in place of wheat flour. It adds structure to gluten free baking.

 

How much Tapioca starch do I use in a pie as a thickener?
1-1/2 Tbsp. per cup of fruit.

 

Is tapioca starch/flour considered whole grain?
No. It is made from cassava, which is a root, not a grain.

 

Is your Tapioca modified or unmodified?
Our tapioca starch is unmodified.


Is your Tapioca Flour/Starch sweet or sour?
Our Tapioca Flour/Starch is considered sweet. The Sour variety refers to it being fermented which our starch is not. The roots that are processed are of the bitter variety, however the starch itself is not bitter. It doesn’t really have a taste to it.

 

Are there Sulfites in this product?
Sulfites are not found “in quantities greater than 10mg/kg” which meets FDA limits of < 10 ppm for declaration.

 

How can I be sure it is gluten free? 
We are Certified by a third party Gluten Free Certification organization to ensure our products meet standards. We are currently certified by the National Celiac Association and we are transitioning to the GFCO, both of which require products to be under the FDA limit of 20ppm (parts per million).  We have many controls in place, including producing it in a gluten free environment on a dedicated line.